The new Bullring is a huge downtown shopping center, mostly under glass, but also with reintroduced traditional streets, full of shops, boutiques and restaurants, and connected to the refurbished Moor Street Station. A stunning mix of contemporary architecture and historic buildings, it has completely changed the face of central Birmingham. The "Bull Ring" site has a long history; established in 1154 when Peter de Bermingham obtained a Charter of Marketing Rights from King Henry II. Originally the The 'ring' was a hoop of iron in Corn Cheaping where bulls were tied for baiting before being slaughtered. It continued to be the main retail market area for Birmingham as the town grew into a modern industrial city.